Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Another year is over and here’s my list of what I couldn’t stop listening to, since their release in 2011. I’ll be giving you my top albums and very soon my top songs, that I’d recommend (insist you track down).

The top ten albums which captured my imagination and made me want to break with convention and sing on the train are:

The Kills – Blood Pressures

I reviewed this earlier in the year and have been playing it ever since. As a fan of female fronted indie rock, The Kills ticks all the boxes.

Blood Pressures will please fans of the garage rockers. The album has the patented distorted guitars and seductive snarls we’ve come to expect from the duo.

My stand out track: Blood Pressures – ‘Nail In My Coffin’

Kasabian – Velociraptor!

One of my favourite live bands is Kasabian who rocked our socks at Isle of Wight Festival this year and this album was made to be played at festivals. Kasabian‘s third consecutive number one album, proving you can work well while off your tits.

My stand out track: Kasabian – ‘Switchblade Smile’

Arctic Monkeys – Suck It and See

Seen this year at Camden’s iTunes Festival the British rockers were born indie veterans. Arctic Monkeys burst onto the scene and show no sign of slowing down. Thank fuck for that.

My stand out track: Arctic Monkeys – ‘Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair’

The Drums – Portamento

I was besotted with The Drums self-titled first album and I was not disappointed by this second instalment. Dark melancholic lyrics and surf poppy goodness, yes please.

I first saw The Drums at Reading Carling Weekender 2010 and lead vocalist, Jonathan Pierce’s dance moves were worth every penny.

My stand out track: The Drums – ‘Money’ (Acoustic)

The Vaccines – What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?

A brilliant debut, though I do think the band were hampered by the hype and concentration on their class (they’re posh, don’t ya know). Another brilliant live band that played both the NME Awards Tour and Isle of Wight Festival. Lets hope they can keep up the momentum for their second album.

My stand out track: The Vaccines – ‘Wetsuit’ (Instagram Video)

Battles – Gloss Drop

Battles are an exciting and experimental indie band. These New Yorker’s second album is a must-listen of 2011 and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

My stand out track: Battles – ‘Africastle’

Guillemots – Walk The River

These British dream popsters were highly enjoyed (by me!) at Camden Crawl, while I was curled in the foetal position amidst the pain of a hangover on the second day of the festival. Guillemots brought me back to life and made darn sure I had a good time.

My stand out track: Guillemots – ‘Vermillion’

Scroobius Pip – Distraction Pieces

This album does feel a lot angrier than his earlier work but after 2011 there’s a lot of political shit to get up in arms about and Mr Scroobius Pip does it justice. Definitely looking forward to his gig at Koko in Camden later this year.

My stand out track: Scroobius Pip – ‘Let ’em Come’

The Duke Spirit – Bruiser

I first saw The Duke Spirit in 2004 supporting the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and they have still remained underneath the radar as a brilliant indie band. Through all the Amy Winehouse wannabe, boring pop and the shoegaze electro-pop girlies, they have been there maintaining their indie cred. I salute you.

My stand out track: The Duke Spirit – ‘Surrender’

Boy – Mutual Friends

I didn’t get into this album until a little after the fact, I discovered Mutual Friends going through my list of 2011 albums in December and I am glad I did. Don’t miss out like I almost did. For fans of female vocalists and indie pop, these German indie girlies will be right up your street.

My stand out track: Boy – ‘Waitress’

Watch out for my top 5 tracks of 2011, coming soon.

What are your favourite albums of the year? Are these the wrong stand out tracks? I gotsta know!?