, , , , , ,

The alternative rock group R. E. M. have called it a day. From their indie beginnings to their political era in the late 80s to their mainstream success in the 90s, R.E. M. have left an ample legacy in their genre.

Formed in Athens, Georgia in 1980, R. E. M.’s most commercially successful albums came in the 90s with Out of Time (1991) and Automatic for the People (1992). These album produced hit singles like ‘Shiny Happy People’ and ‘Everybody Hurts’.

REM – ‘Shiny Happy People’

R. E. M. are giving fans a farewell gift by releasing three brand new tracks as part of a Greatest Hits due out on Novemeber 14th 2011. The three tracks will be called ‘We All Go Back Where We Belong’, ‘A Month of Saturdays’ and ‘Hallelujah’. The farewell tracks were recorded this summer in their hometown. The new album will feature 40 songs in total and will cover 31 years of their music career according to NME.com.

Fans of the alternative rock trio, Radiohead played a cover of R. E. M.’s ‘The One I Love’ as an intro to their song ‘Everything In Its Right Place’ on the 28th September 2011.

Coldplay have also paid tribute to R. E. M. by covering one of their most beloved tracks, ‘Everybody Hurts’ on the 24th of September during their 2011 Music Midtown performance in Piedmont Park, Atlanta.

Coldplay – ‘Everybody Hurts’ (R. E. M. cover)