Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The London-based indie singer-songwriter graced the Brick Lane venue for an in-store gig she announced on her Twitter. The gig promoted the release of her new album Virtue.

Emmy the Great played a free gig at Rough Trade East on Tuesday (14th June). Buying the album allowed you to get it signed and pick up a free copy of Virtue Demos From Summer 2010.

The intimate venue was packed with fans of the beautiful Emma-Lee Moss. Personally I’ve been a fan for about six years, since I got hooked on her original demos like ‘Canopies and Grapes’, ‘Atoms’, ‘My Guitar’ and ‘My Party Is Better Than Yours’.

Emmy The Great – ‘Canopies and Grapes’

The gig was really relaxed with injections of Emmy’s wit between tracks. She began with her new material, ‘Dinosaur Sex’ was a standout track which kicks off both the album and demos.

Emmy also played ‘First Love’, a fan favourite which went down well with the crowd. She then ended the gig by taking requests for older tracks. The most popular song was ‘24’ and it was a dream come true (for more than just me, I’m sure).

After the gig I queued for the signing but trying to get someone to take our photo turned out to be a shambles. I was completely embarrassed but it turned out he’d taken the photo correctly and just didn’t know it. Fangirl dream come true.

Emmy The Great – ‘Paper Forest’ (Live at Rough Trade East)

Have you ever met one of your idols? Were you a dork like me? Any pics? Who would you like to meet?

